

## **PRESS RELEASES**

January 27, 2012 New Delhi

## PM constitutes an Expert Committee on Sugar Sector

Prime Minister has constituted an Expert Committee under the Chairmanship of Dr. C. Rangarajan, Chairman Economic Advisory Council to the Prime Minister, to examine issues relating to the sugar sector. The other members of the committee are:

- 1. Dr. Kaushik Basu, Chief Economic Adviser, Ministry of Finance
- 2. Secretary, Department of Food and Public Distribution
- 3. Secretary, Department of Agriculture
- 4. Dr. Ashok Gulati, CACP
- **5.** Shri Nand Kumar, former Secretary, Department of Food and Public Distribution and Department of Agriculture and Cooperation and presently Member NDMA
- **6.** Dr. K.P. Krishnan, Secretary EAC Convener

The Committee has been empowered to involve such experts, academics as required as special invitees. The Committee will look into all the issues relating to de-regulation of the sugar sector and it has been requested to complete its task as early as possible and give its recommendations to the Prime Minister. The Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food and Public Distribution has been requested to provide the necessary support to the Committee in discharging its functions.